The Medieval Room
The medieval room is situated in the base of the Parade (South) Tower. Features in the room include plunging arrow loops inserted in the massive walls that are indicative of the strongly defensive nature of the early castle. In the centre of the room is a stone pillar and re-used timbers dating from the later medieval period. During the nineteenth century remodelling of the castle the room was converted to use as a wine cellar. Today, this is where visitors can watch the audio visual on Kilkenny Castle.
During a prolonged visit to Ireland in 1394-1395, King Richard II of England spent the month of April 1395 in the Earl of Ormond’s great castle at Kilkenny. The reconstruction drawing attemps to show what the castle might have looked like during his visit, when it was at the height of its medieval development and before the post-medieval changes.